Introducing India


The Constitution of India recognizes 22 different local languages, of which Hindi is used for official communication along with English at a national level. Other Indian languages recognized by the Constitution are Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Maithili, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu. However, according to the 2011 census, approximately 32 languages are spoken by more than a million native speakers, and 122 are spoken by more than 10,000 speakers. According to the 2011 census, literacy rates stand at 74.04% (82.14% for males and 65.46% for females).7

Get in Touch
Manoj Gidwani
Vice President
Global Marketing and Administration

Subscribe to our Newsletter

We are constantly working on sharing relevant alerts & publications to keep you informed on the latest developments.

Get Your Guide on Doing Business India